.

Cops: Residents' Complaints About Greenport Drug Dealing Lead To Arrest

The East End Task Force worked with Southold Town police to apprehend defendant.

Community outcry about drug sales in Greenport led to a recent arrest, police said.

According to Southold Town Police, on Friday, Suffolk County District Attorney Thomas Spota's East End Drug Task Force and Southold police conducted a search warrant at a home on First Street in Greenport.

Police arrested Lavain Creighton, 42, who lived at the residence, and charged him with criminal possession of a controlled substance in the third degree, narcotic with intent to sell, a felony. He was also charged with criminal possession of a controlled substance in the seventh degree, a misdemeanor; criminal possession of a narcotic drug in the fourth degree, a felony; and criminal use of drug paraphernalia, scales, a misdemeanor.

Southold Police Chief Martin Flatley said Creighton was found to be in possession of cocaine.

Creighton was arraigned in Southold Town justice court and held at the Suffolk County Correctional Facility in lieu of $20,000 cash bail.

Authorities said the investigation was launched in direct response to community complaints about drug sales in Greenport.

Alex February 21, 2013 at 12:58 PM
Throw away the key
Melissa Gallo February 21, 2013 at 02:54 PM
Really? Wish they'd take my complaint seriously and arrest the dude that's dealing to my kid!
mike edelson February 21, 2013 at 11:40 PM
Drug use is pursuit of happiness. It's American freedom. As a retired Professor from Stony Brook, I decry this abuse of government power.
JohnDoe February 22, 2013 at 01:50 PM
As a retired professor from Stony Brook I would sincerely hope that you would be smarter than to make a ridiculous statement such as that. Unless of course you are being facetious which, in that case, it is still not funny.
Bible Banger February 23, 2013 at 04:45 AM
t
Bible Banger February 23, 2013 at 04:46 AM
The shame is their kids were there AGAIN!!!! And one of the responding officers on the task force wisked them away to a relatives house INSTEAD of doing the right thing and turning them over to the state where they can be placed and GET the help they need to grow up away from this and HOPEFULLY not become what they have been around. Furthermore the kids were NOT supposed to BE there, there are orders of protection in place against the parents and the parents are not supposed to have them right now. The mother is a waste case who cares more about her drug supplying, drug using man then her own children's welfare. These two are truly monkeys selling bananas. And don't be stupid to think I mean that racially, I mean that as an analogy to someone who "supplies" something that they consume a well. Those kids don't stand a chance, and the people who keep getting temporary custody are all friends or relatives of the parents and are pieces of dung themselves and ALLOW those kids to see their parents and even STAY in that drug den!!! ALL USERS IN THAT CLIQUE!!!!!!
Stan Uproar lll February 24, 2013 at 12:49 PM
Amen to that! As a new hipster in greenport ive seen how bad hoods can be cleane cleansed of drug dealers and scum learn from NYC my home town in Brooklyn was the same way now its cleansed of pushers and hookers and dirt bags
ALC1030 February 24, 2013 at 02:36 PM
@bible banger, although I am not a fan of either person you talk about, some of your statements are incorrect. I would check my facts before I make such bold statements. Lou, places will never be cleansed of all you listed, no matter how many people you remove from the area doing such things, there will always be someone else to come in. @ Melissa, they can get rid of the one but there will be another to take his or her place in selling to your child. Get your child the help he or she needs to get off the drugs.
jus me February 24, 2013 at 04:37 PM
i agree w all but one not all pos who had the kids they r caring ppl who tried to give the mother a chance to get it together...ppl who have loved and tried to get the help the kids need. Its hard when u have a family urself and have kids that r in need of so much help them selves... so before u bash everyone in the situation sweep around your own front door cuz im sure u have some dirt u have missed on ur own floor..
Bible Banger February 24, 2013 at 09:15 PM
w
Bible Banger February 24, 2013 at 09:22 PM
Well I DO have my facts straight.I witnessed the raid when walking my dogs that morning. Living close by and in this small town where people say more than they should I KNOW who had custody of them last. A 32 year old southold woman who's girlfriend is another known cocaine dealer!!! Friends and colleagues in with the parents in this case. I would often see her dropping off the children at the greenport residence and was told by someone VERY close to the situation that the parents were in fact not allowed to see them unsupervised and NOT exceeding just a few short hours a week. The father was not to see them at ALL. But there they were, at that house all hours of the day and night, drugs being bought and sold around them with no one but by standers giving a damn about their well being. You can try to kick up dust to cover the tracks of what has really been done, and who is behind it. But in the end it speaks for it self. Any mother who truly cared about their children wouldn't allow that, and would get help to overcome an addiction and choose their children above any one and anything. The mother was on probation, tell my why is it she didn't get violated yet? Involved in a drug bust, drugs and alcohol in the house? This house of cards is one BLOW from caving in.
ALC1030 February 24, 2013 at 10:34 PM
Correction, the Southold woman no longer HAD custody. Correction, the mother of the children WAS allowed UNSUPERVISED visits. So AGAIN, check your facts before you make such bold statements. If you are clearly going off of what someone told you, well i have a bridge in Jersey I can sell you while we are at it. I am not defending anything that has taken place. But it would almost sound as though you have a personal vendetta against those we speak about. As far as you passing judgement on everyone else who has had the kids or has been involved, being the name you gave yourself, I would think you would know that only God can do the judging.
Bible Banger February 24, 2013 at 11:33 PM
i
Bible Banger February 25, 2013 at 09:39 PM
Oh but the facts ARE correct. I did not say that the southold woman had custody of them at the time of the raid. I said she was the last to have them. That is before yet another family member gained custody. I am not going to sit idly by and watch children trapped in the midst of a drug den and do or say nothing. I do not have a vendetta as you say, I simply have too much knowledge of the accused to ignore. As for facts everything I have said IS true. Including the information about the southold woman, who not only has dated a notorious local cocaine dealer for years who was convicted of sales several years ago, she herself is a user. I worked near their home for quiet some time and have had the opportunity to observe and report the activity. But she is irrevalant, just a matter of time before a well deserved bust leads to their arrest and removal of her own child. The matter at hand is a highly productive drug dealer is locked away, a woman evaded charges which may have lead to her getting the help she needed and kids are still being allowed to fall through the cracks of a failing system.
Bible Banger February 25, 2013 at 09:50 PM
Further more and finally, as I will not waste anymore time with someone who sides with a dealer and has the audacity to tell a parent to get their CHILD help and ignore the dealers. I never once mentioned the southold woman's name to avoid being accused of slander, but you seem to oddly enough know JUST whom I am referring to!! As for the mother of these children, she DOES need help. I know of several other women who have children fathered by the same man and THEY are all upstanding parents who are dedicated to their children. We are talking about sleazy people here. Benefit of the doubt says she may not have always been that way, that MAYBE she "comes from a good family" but the fact is she is no longer that person, she is a lost cause at this point in time. I keep her in my prayers.
Bible Banger February 25, 2013 at 10:21 PM
As for the father. HE is no father as far as I can see to any of his children. As a father I know it takes more than just making a child to be a DAD. Its taking your kids to taekwondo, soccer, wrestling, football, playing catch with them, being a positive influence and being active in your childrens lives. Teaching them to live above the influence not to become the influence.
Bestof82 February 26, 2013 at 07:36 PM
why is the focus more on the southold woman that no longer has custody than the mother of children? Maybe if people would extend their heart to the mother of those kids she would feel compelled to get the help she needs to regain cutsody of her kids. I know she wasn't always like that, and those of us who do know her, also know she is far gone right now and we would like nothing more to get the old her back.
Bible Banger February 26, 2013 at 08:35 PM
If this was the first time this happened I would say get her help, rehabilitate her everyone deserves a second chance. How many times do you give that same person the same second chance after they make the SAME mistake. This isn't even a simple mistake or moment of bad judgement, this is a life of bad judgement, and my focal point is the well being of those kids.You can't rehabilitate someone who CHOOSES to live that way, I do not believe in "addiction" I believe in choice. You choose to continue getting high, you will.
Bible Banger February 26, 2013 at 08:35 PM
continued: You choose to be sober, you will be sober. As for WHY I have shed light upon the "southold" woman it is simply because of people like her that these kids were being put at risk time and time again. She enabled the mother to continue using and dealing and STILL get to see her children and play the role of "mommy" and string those kids along letting them think everything was FINE and then they are caught up in a traumatizing drug raid AGAIN. Its about time someone said the truth about that southold woman, she's a p.o.s in my opinion, who likes to think she is above every one else, well the thing about standing tall is those who are "underneath" her can see straight up her nose!! She has nerve pretending to be an upstanding citizen, trying to paint the facade that she is mother of the year and "goodie-goodie" when she is a drug slinging, law breaking, LUSH. What she doesn't know is people see right through the image she tries so desperatley to present. She is just low class, and needs to get help herself not only for her addiction but for her abusive relationship. A field full of parents and children watched as her drug dealing girlfriend stormed the field at on of my sons sporting events and proceeded to publicly beat her. And THIS is the environment those kids were moved into? How is that BETTER than where they WERE?
Bestof82 February 26, 2013 at 08:42 PM
You make yourself sound like a holier than thou goodie goodie yourself. Who knows who you are or what you do behind your closed doors. you have nerve putting peoples business out here for everyone to see. That doesn't show good taste if you ask me. You may have seen and witnessed some things but that does not mean you truly know the people you are talking about.
7890 February 26, 2013 at 10:46 PM
@ Bible Banger.....You sit there and say that your main concern is for the children well it sounds to me that you are more concerned with bashing these people who put themselves out to help a friend and in the end get slandered by people like you...Seems to me like you may be an undercover hater....Ok maybe they do have their faults and do need help to better their self,last I knew no one is perfect...and that includes YOU Bible Banger.Maybe before you use a religious name like that you should first read the Bible and know that ONLY GOD CAN JUDGE!!!!!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »